How to grief while drowning — Part 2

Elizabeth Portilla
5 min readOct 29, 2023

Grief is a non-linear process. Progress isn’t either. During the last 2 1/2 months since my mom’s passing, while I grieved before, this is a totally different level. Some things that make it different:

My mom. Chorrillos, 2018

It’s my mom.

She’s been the person who has been in my life the longest, who knew me the longest and probably the most. And for what it is worth, at this age, an empathetic ear that became my friend when I started to go through the pains of adulthood. My mom was not perfect, by all means. She was learning to be a mom with me and went through a major depression with nobody in my family being able to comprehend or support her at the time. My mom was also grieving. My grandmother passed away two months prior. And while I wish now I could have spent more time there for her, I didn’t. I haven’t lost a mom before, and even as empathetic as someone can be, it’s a hard pain to understand because everybody’s mom is different.

Even my own experience of my mom is different from my sister’s and my brother’s.

I’ve already grieved some of the everyday connection.

In 2018, I moved to Mexico, and I wouldn’t see my mom every day. I struggled (I didn’t realize it at the time) with an abusive relationship…

--

--

Elizabeth Portilla

🚀 Software Engineer.🎵 Music producer. Collaborator at @limajsorg, Perú dev, and #vuevixens Perú. #javascript ❤️ linktr.ee/lizzie136