How to grief while drowning — Part 1

Elizabeth Portilla
6 min readSep 21, 2023
Me, mom, dad, my sister, and my brother, on the last birthday I could spend in person with my mom. 2020, Lima, Peru

On August 14th, I woke up early to get to the embassy to renovate my country identification (DNI), and while I was there, I learned I could renovate my passport right there; contrary to the previous information they gave me, it was not necessary to change my name (I got married) or other changes for it. I was excited to call my mom and tell her that I would finally be able to visit after three years. I got back home and prepared for an internal company book club, and life got in the way while I was preparing the apartment to receive one of my best friends and Luis, her partner and a dear friend, who will arrive in NY to visit us. I should have called my mom, but I decided that later. James (my husband) and I went to pick them up at the airport. In a bizarre series of events, all changed:

  • I checked my family's WhatsApp. My sister mentioned she was going to the emergency room.
  • I’m confused. I asked why
  • I received a call, a call I was hoping never to get. My mom was in the emergency area of a hospital after a heart attack. I entered in panic, but I still had to be the older sister of my brother on the line, a doctor, and it was trying all on his hands to keep my mom alive. Quitely sobbing, I can tell him that I know he’s doing all in his hands, and whatever happens, she’ll be proud of him for doing his best. Heart attacks like my…

--

--

Elizabeth Portilla

🚀 Software Engineer.🎵 Music producer. Collaborator at @limajsorg, Perú dev, and #vuevixens Perú. #javascript ❤️ linktr.ee/lizzie136